How Political Correctness Stole Christmas

Like millions across the world, Christmas is my favorite holiday.  It’s a time to relax, spend time with family, and best of all receive obscene amounts of presents.  However, Christmas has changed, and as I have grown, I have begun to see how deep the roots of political correctness have penetrated society and skewed the meaning behind the holiday.  In our attempt to avoid offending others, we have lost our identity, and even though this nation is the melting pot of the world, we have strayed far from the values of our founding fathers.

The Christmas holiday is simply another glaring reminder of how far we have fallen, not only in America, but across the globe.

What is this truth? Why do we celebrate Christmas? Christmas has long been recognized as a Christian holiday that celebrates the birth of Jesus.  The real question is: why is mainstream America so determined to take the story of Christmas away from us?  We live in a society where our government has taken drastic measures over the years to ensure no slight reference to Christianity exists within our schools, government offices, and courthouses. From the removal of the term “Christmas” from Christmas trees to businesses preventing their employees from saying “Merry Christmas,” or the banning of Nativity scenes and other Christmas related symbols, the reasoning or excuse for removing these Christmas related ideas is an attempt to avoid “offense” and exercise proper political correctness. This is nothing new; this has been occurring for many years. Every Christmas, the light is once again shed on this growing problem that by New Years day, we have completely forgotten what had taken place. The struggle for proper recognition has turned into “The War on Christmas.”

In an article posted by CNN, Rep. Henry Brown of South Carolina discusses his resolution which calls for “fellow House members to support the use of Christmas related symbols and traditions and frown upon any attempt to ban references to the holiday.” He also speaks of the progressive deterioration of the origins of Christmas over time and the effects of the possible demise of this sacred holiday.  “What I’m afraid of — if we don’t bring some kind of closure to this continuous change, then in 20 years it will almost be completely different from what we see today … and so we would lose the whole emphasis of what the very early beginnings of Christmas was all about,” said Brown.

As a Christian, conservative, and American, I believe in the Christmas story and its importance. Political correctness is rampant within our society, and it is important that young conservatives defend the values that make our nation great.  Otherwise, we’ll be stuck in the melting pot of holiday traditions that mean nothing to us.  If we can celebrate Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, and Diwali, it should be okay for me to recognize Christmas.

Jacob Harmon // University of California at San Diego // @jacobsonlv

Comments

  1. paula burt says:

    Agreed 100%! I actually had my status posted on FB a little bit just like you said it here.

  2. Great article…on target!

  3. 2alangroves says:

    “young conservatives defend the values that make our nation great. Otherwise, we’ll be stuck in the melting pot of holiday traditions that mean nothing to us. ”

    I LOVE this! Tolerance is great, but politically correct multiculturalism denegrates and devalues everyone’s culture, customs, and traditions.

  4. “If we can celebrate Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, and Diwali, it should be okay for me to recognize Christmas.”
    …You can. Wait, did I miss something?

    Every time I hear about the “War on Christmas,” I get uncomfortable. It always seems like the “Restless Leg Syndrome” of the Republican Party: it’s easy to sell solutions if you invent the problems. I’ve been shopping for a while now, and about half the people I run into wish me a Merry Christmas. Statistically speaking, saying this to a white person in Maine has a very high chance of success. Unfortunately, I’ve been shopping for Hannukah presents. From where I stand, there is no war. Everything is red and green (Christmas colors), Santa is everywhere (he doesn’t deliver Hannukah gifts), and I can count on no hands the amount of times I’ve heard the Dreidel Song on a mall radio (though this could be because it isn’t a very good song). Christmas is evident, even overwhelming this time of year. I occasionally forget about Hannukah while out and about.

    I’m not trying to say that somehow Christmas has too much power either. I acknowledge that Hannukah’s low visibility is totally fair in light of its low percentage of celebration. It just seems like “Happy Holidays” is a simple way to avoid making anyone feel uncomfortable. Imagine if you saw literally no sign of your beloved holiday outside of a small, corner-rack of blue and white napkins. You would probably enter full crisis mode. I mean, look at the hissy fit you guys are throwing, and all that’s been taken from you is a few Nativities and a phrase.

  5. Bewildered Bob says:

    Totally get your point, Shalom.

    I always saw “Happy Holidays” as more inclusive, not “less offensive.” Someone wishing me a Happy Kwanzaa does not offend me, though I do not celebrate Kwanzaa.

    I worked in retail for a while, and when someone wished me Merry Christmas, I would gladly respond with a Merry Christmas of my own. Government institutions, though, should NOT promote a religious holiday. I don’t understand why people cannot comprehend this.

    Anyway, Christmas is alive and well. If you have a problem with a private company or institution saying “Happy Holidays” then take it up with the top brass, don’t complain online or to the lowly clerk.

    Merry Christmas!

    Happy Hanukkah, Shalom!

  6. I think this article is a bit silly. Where is this “War on Christmas”? When was the last time you were legally prohibited from celebrating Christmas? As to how “our government has taken drastic measures over the years to ensure no slight reference to Christianity exists within our schools, government offices, and courthouses”, so what? Those are government institutions, they have absolutely no business endorsing particular religions, or using public resources (which are paid for by everyone), to celebrate a religious holiday.

    As to businesses not using “Merry Christmas”, that’s well within their rights. They’re private businesses, if they want to say “I hope you have a terrible holiday season”, that’s their right. Unless you’re a significant stockholder in one of these corporations, I suggest that if you take offense with their holiday practices, don’t shop there.

    About the Founding Fathers: Some were Christians, some were Deists, some belonged to churches but weren’t religious. The point is, the were still all secularists, they held that the government should be silent on religious affairs (First Amendment, Treaty of Tripoli).

    Just because the government doesn’t put up Hannukah displays doesn’t mean I’m not free to celebrate it. I hardly see how the government not using PUBLIC PROPERTY to promote a certain religious viewpoint constitutes a war on Christmas.

    “As a Christian, conservative, and American, I believe in the Christmas story and its importance”

    Like you, I’m a Christian and Christmas is very important to me. However, I realize that government land and resources aren’t for spreading my religious views. You and I (and everyone for that matter) can celebrate Christmas all we want – as private citizens we’re free to believe and observe whatever customs that catch our fancy (I’d like to see evidence that this freedom has been taken away from you), but the government has no such privilege.

  7. I’m curious as to what many people who self identify as conservatives would consider the “proper recognition” of christmas to be. While I find nothing wrong with an individual of the christian faith (I was raised catholic myself) celebrating and greeting others with the christmas greetings, I am uncomfortable with an elected official using his official capacity to endorse/encourage a religious holiday. I am disheartened by the impervious link that many people seem to make between christian and American. I always thought that American was a standalone identifier that never needed any qualification, religious or ideological.

  8. KEEP CHRIST IN CHRISTMAS. and in schools, public institutions, the Government, and in greetings, phrases, etc..

    Merry Christmas :)
    That is all..

  9. “Government institutions, though, should NOT promote a religious holiday.”

    Well, that explains why they recognize it as a federal holiday!

  10. Bewildered Bob says:

    What is your point, joe?

What Do You Think?

